Understanding Marijuana Possession Laws in Oklahoma

The A&M TeamCriminal Defense

As the nation continues its debate on the legalization of marijuana – with Colorado and Washington already making the leap forward – the fact remains that Oklahoma still enforces some of the harshest marijuana and drug crime laws in the country. This is despite recent surveys that have found a majority of Oklahomans support medical marijuana and de-penalizing pot possession.

Although social views are quickly shifting toward the acceptance of marijuana, Oklahoma still views pot possession as a serious criminal offense. While circumstances will always vary depending on the facts of a case, penalties for possession may generally be as follows:

First time offense – misdemeanor punishable by up to one year imprisonment and $1,000 in fines, as well as other fees probation, community service, and other penalties.

Second or subsequent offense – anyone who is charged with possession of marijuana with a prior conviction can be subjected to felony charges. Felony possession of marijuana in Oklahoma is punishable by up to ten years in prison and up to a $5,000 fine, along with other long-term consequences.

The unique circumstances of a case will always have an impact on the penalties one faces and the defense options available. Possession of large amounts of marijuana, for instance, can lead to more serious charges – including possession with intent to distribute – and more severe criminal penalties. In any situation, legal representation becomes crucial to protecting one’s future.

Marijuana possession charges are in themselves very serious criminal offenses that pose serious, life-altering penalties. If additional or elevated charges arise, the consequences can be profound. At Atkins & Markoff, our Oklahoma criminal defense lawyers have defended many clients charged with drug crimes and possession in the past and have the experience, resources, and determination to fight on your behalf today.

If you would like to learn more about your possession charge and the penalties you face, please do not hesitate to reach out to an Oklahoma drug crime attorney as soon as possible. Request your free case review by calling 405-256-2606.