As the weather gets warmer and the days grow longer, many young people are making time to celebrate the end of an often demanding and stressful school year. Sometimes, such celebrations involve the consumption of alcohol, which can lead to an increased risk of individuals under 21 getting behind the wheel of a vehicle under the influence. A DUI or DWI arrest can be a difficult time for any individual, especially one under the legal age, which requires assistance from an Oklahoma City DUI criminal defense lawyer. Below you will find information regarding the fines and penalties associated with underage drinking and driving.
WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW ABOUT UNDERAGE DRINKING AND DRIVING
In the state of Oklahoma, a person under the age of 21 caught driving with any amount of alcohol in their system can have their driver’s license revoked for a period of six months with a first offense, 12 months for a second offense and 36 months for a third offense. Additionally, if convicted of a DUI, an individual under 21 can expect to be fined between $100 and $500 in addition to community service and/or participation in an alcohol treatment program. If placed under arrest, individuals under the age of 18 can expect to have their driving privileges revoked for a period of six months to two years depending on the individual’s record and the circumstances of the arrest.
For individuals under the age of 21, the state DUI laws maintain a zero tolerance policy with regard to driving after having consumed any amount of alcohol. Any signs of alcohol consumption by a person under the legal age who is operating a motor vehicle can result in an arrest and a DUI conviction.
CONTACT AN OKLAHOMA CITY DUI CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYER
Navigating the often-confusing legal system without representation can be an impossibly daunting task. The next step after any DUI or DWI arrest of an underage individual should be to contact an experienced Oklahoma City DUI criminal defense lawyer. Contact Atkins & Markoff today to schedule an initial consultation.